SEASonality SA

Spencer Gulf Region

The Spencer Gulf Region is bordered by Yorke Peninsula to the east, Eyre Peninsula to the west and Kangaroo Island to the south. This expansive wedge-shaped gulf is characterised by sheltered waters. With wind driven wave action and depth increasing from north to south.

Spencer Gulf is home to a variety of coastlines from:

  • Limestone cliffs and sandy bays of the east
  • Sheer granite cliffs and rocky coves of the south
  • Long sandy beaches and island chains of the west
  • Seagrass meadows, mangroves and the samphire tidal flats of the north.

These diverse marine environments support the production of a variety of Marine Scalefish produce.

Key ports include: Wallaroo, Port Germaine, Port Pirie, Port Augusta, Whyalla, Cowell and Port Lincoln.